warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/../ad_/ad_cache_.inc) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/:/tmp/) in /var/www/vhosts/glencoenews.com/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ad/adserve.inc on line 160.

Glencoe, Silver Lake, GSL voters back new faces; school district’s levy referendum fails

Glencoe and Silver Lake’s city councils, along with the GSL School Board, will have some new faces on them after ballots from the Nov. 6 Election Day voting were counted.

City votes
In Glencoe, Allen Robeck defeated Michael Drew for the councilor-at-large seat, 1,120 to 827.
Councilor John Schrupp was unopposed for re-election to the seat representing the second precinct. He received 423 votes. Paul Lemke was unopposed for the third precinct seat after Councilor Gary Ziemer opted against re-election. Lemke received 443 votes.
In Silver Lake, the city council will have a new look. Dorothy “Dot” Butler defeated Mayor Bruce Bebo, 199 to 142. Newcomers Josh Winfrey and Chris Penaz won election to the city council with 218 and 169 votes, respectively. Incumbent Josh Mason finished third in the race for two seats with 150 votes. Incumbent Ken Merrill did not seek re-election.
Many of the other city council races saw candidates and incumbents running without opposition.
In Brownton, Mayor Norm Schwarze was unopposed for re-election. He received 222 votes. Douglas A. Block and Curt Carrigan were elected to the city council with 190 votes and 186 votes, respectively. They were unopposed. Jesse Messner was unopposed in a special Brownton City Council election. He received 230 votes.
Voters in Stewart, re-elected Jason Peirce to the mayor’s post. He was unopposed and received 136 votes. James Eitel and Curt Glaeser both won election to the city council, receiving 126 and 121 votes, respectively.
In Biscay, Mayor Thomas Urban was re-elected without opposition. He received 30 votes. Leroy Knoll and Donovan Dose were elected to the city council without opposition. Knoll received 30 votes and Dose had 29.
Plato voters elected unopposed Mayor Tracy Montgomery to the city council with 114 votes. Neil Engelmann and VeeAnn Wood were voted on to the city council. Engelmann finished with 117 votes and Wood received 95.
New Auburn voters elected Douglas Munsch as mayor. He received 121 votes and had no opposition. Roger Becker got 98 votes for city council and Barbara Schutte finished with 82. They were without opposition.

GSL School District results
Director Jason Lindeman was re-elected to the Glencoe-Silver Lake School Board. He received 2,513 votes. Newcomers Jonathan Lemke received 2,358 and Alicia Luckhardt had 2,130 to win. Directors Anne Twiss and Clark Christianson did not seek re-election.
The other candidates for the three seats included Valarie Bandas with 1,880 votes, Andrea Janke with 1,848 and James Entinger with 889 votes.
The school district’s request for an increase in the operating levy failed. There were 2,850 votes opposing the request and 2,190 votes in favor of the additional levy funding.

State races
In House District 18B, Glenn Gruenhagen, R-Glencoe, defeated DFLer Ashley Latzke of Gaylord, 10,843 to 5,403.
Voters in House District 18A returned Rep. Dean Urdahl, R-Grove City, to office. He defeated DFLer Justin Vold of Darwin, 11,884 to 4,269. Kyle Greene of Grove City received 650 votes and Libertarian Jill Galvan of Cosmos received 363 votes.

Federal races
The area’s representative in the U.S House of Representatives, Rep. Collin Peterson C. Peterson, a Democrat, defeated Republican Dave Hughes, 146,649 to 134,651.
Incumbent U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar, a Democrat, won re-election over Republican Jim Newberger, 1,566,015 to 940,454.
Results from the special election to fill the remainder of former Sen. Al Franken’s term saw Democrat Tina Smith defeat Republican Karin Housley, 1,370,375 to 1,095,777.

County elections
In the soil & water conservation’s second district race, Gary Templin of Glencoe defeated Roger V. Schultz of Glencoe, 6,636 to 5,577. Charles W. Matthews of rural Glencoe won the SWCD’s first district seat without opposition. He received 12,088 votes.
Commissioner Doug Krueger of rural Glencoe was re-elected without opposition. He received 2,484 votes.
Commissioner Joe Nagel of Hutchinson was unchallenged. He won with 2,341 votes.
County Recorder Lynn Ette Schrupp won election without opposition. She received 12,303 votes.
County Sheriff Scott Rehmann was re-elected without opposition. He received 12,727 votes.
Michael Junge was re-elected county attorney without a challenge. Junge received 12,022 votes.

A more detailed report on the outcome of local and area elections will be in next week’s paper.